Beta
×

Welcome to the Slashdot Beta site -- learn more here. Use the link in the footer or click here to return to the Classic version of Slashdot.

Thank you!

We are sorry to see you leave - Beta is different and we value the time you took to try it out. Before you decide to go, please take a look at some value-adds for Beta and learn more about it. Thank you for reading Slashdot, and for making the site better!

Google Faces Deluge of Nexus One Complaints

Soulskill posted more than 4 years ago | from the enjoy-the-flood-of-customer-rage dept.

Cellphones 329

wkurzius writes "It seems Google is going through some growing pains as far as customer service is concerned. Since their new phone, the Nexus One, can be bought unlocked, many people are turning to Google themselves for help, but not getting what they're used to from traditional mobile carriers. T-Mobile and HTC are also getting hammered, with many customers being bounced back and forth between the two companies' service lines." It seems they're also taking flak from Android developers who are unhappy that no SDK has yet been released for Android 2.1, which runs on the Nexus One.

Sorry! There are no comments related to the filter you selected.

scandleous (1, Offtopic)

QuantumG (50515) | more than 4 years ago | (#30702826)

A friend of mine works for Google, and he will be receiving the blame for this (as he does for all Google's screw ups). :)

Re:scandleous (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30702946)

Why? Does he work in the legal department? They get blamed for everything.

Re:scandleous (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30703142)

scandleous? Really?
I don't want to troll here, but please, nobody is THAT nervous when being the first post on a news story.
And I don't believe your friend is the top of the food line in Nexus One development either.

new to customer service (5, Insightful)

timmarhy (659436) | more than 4 years ago | (#30702830)

google doesn't have any experience fielding public customer service - all their products are free to the public with some commercial products that i guess would generate some limited helpdesk demands.

it's little wonder this is biting them in the arse.

Re:new to customer service (5, Funny)

dimeglio (456244) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703048)

Can't they just Google their questions?

Re:new to customer service (4, Insightful)

Threni (635302) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703166)

Can't they answer questions - 10 month old questions at that - about whether developers are supposed to be locked out of their own apps, or if this is a bug they'll be fixing over the next 2 years?

What about the droid/milestone - are google interested in selling this in the uk? What about the nexus one?

Google seem a little clueless at the moment. I want a droid/milestone, but not from this shitty UK website which has nothing but complaints from customers about an inability to deliver/missing cables etc which are being removed from boxes and then sold as extra/faulty units magically turning up 'broken' when they're returned etc etc.

Why can't I walk into a phone shop in the UK and just buy one of the latest Android 2 phones? I really want to avoid Apple because they suck far harder than Google but it looks like Google is fast catching up.

Re:new to customer service (-1, Offtopic)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30703584)

When I first read your post, my thoughts were that you in fact not human, but a chimpanzee that had somehow managed to escape from the animal nuthouse. Upon closer inspection, I came to realize the horrible truth. You are without exception the most pitiful and woeful example of mankind that ever existed. You are the one who puts the 'Homo' in 'Homo sapien'. I am at a loss for words powerful enough to describe your pathetically sub-par intellect and nealithic communication skills, so instead you have forced me to rape and murder several small towns just to block out the extensive amounts of trauma caused by reading your post. I can only hope that this thread does not fall into the hands of more innocent victims, and one day, you will commit suicide in such an horrific manner that it cures some of the readers' trauma.

Re:new to customer service (0)

diefuchsjagden (835254) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703548)

Why not bing the questions, its obvious Google can't be trusted to answer question, about its own short comings. Thats kind of like asking M$ to honest and forthright about its short comings.

Re:new to customer service (5, Interesting)

gandhi_2 (1108023) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703112)

correcto.

Google is many things, but a customer-service-oriented company they are not.
Ask anyone with adwords campaign sitting in "under review" for 3 weeks.
Besides, HTC actually makes the device.

Re:new to customer service (4, Insightful)

Man On Pink Corner (1089867) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703116)

That really hits the nail on the head. If you give your stuff away for free, you can tell complainers to get bent. But if you charge so much as $0.15, your customers own your sorry ass.

Google's going to have to learn that little fact of life sooner or later.

Re:new to customer service (3, Informative)

maxume (22995) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703420)

Ya know, a whole bunch of people do pay them to place advertising, and they have been doing so for a few years now.

Re:new to customer service (1)

Man On Pink Corner (1089867) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703664)

Not exactly the same thing as selling hardware.

Re:new to customer service (5, Informative)

Entropy98 (1340659) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703128)

I've had to contact Google customer service in the past, as a paying advertiser and as a adsense publisher, and in my experience you wait 2-3 days to get a form letter that doesn't even apply to your question/problem.

I've heard, and experienced somewhat, that this improves once you start making them decent money.

In their defense they must receive an unbelievable amount of stupid questions.

Re:new to customer service (2, Informative)

Chees0rz (1194661) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703262)

I reported a fraudulent charge on my Credit Card from Adwords. Did everything Google said to do (followed links, submitted e-form to customer service). I waited a week, replied to the "We got your message email please wait" email and finally got a person to respond.

"Please work this out with your credit card institute."

Not the best experience.

Re:new to customer service (4, Funny)

93 Escort Wagon (326346) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703326)

In their defense they must receive an unbelievable amount of stupid questions.

Of course, to look at it another way - they make a lot of their money from people asking stupid questions.

Re:new to customer service (3, Funny)

maxume (22995) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703448)

Google: We have your stupid answers.

Re:new to customer service (2, Funny)

Ethanol-fueled (1125189) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703130)

TFS:

Since their new phone, the Nexus One, can be bought unlocked, many people are turning to Google themselves for help, but not getting what they're used to from traditional mobile carriers.

Just installed Linux on my laptop. Oh crap, borked my sound...get on Google and look for a fix...hum-tee-tum...no, that one didn't work...either did that one....now this is getting annoying, I can't listen to music...nothing on Google. Call Toshiba, maybe they can help me...no, they can't because it worked before...nrrrRRRRRRRRRR...

SLACKWARE! WHY WON'T YOU FUCKING TELL ME WHAT TO DO?!

Re:new to customer service (3, Funny)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30703204)

Use windows.

-Slackware.

Re:new to customer service (5, Insightful)

zill (1690130) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703510)

Exactly.

Warranties; Disclaimer of Warranties

You agree that Google is not the manufacturer, but the seller, of the Device. You acknowledge that HTC is the manufacturer of the Device and provides the Limited Warranty for repairs and service of the Device. Please refer to http://www.google.com/support/android/bin/answer.py?answer=166519 [google.com] or the warranty card in the Device package for details on the HTC Limited Warranty terms and how to make a claim under the HTC Limited Warranty. If you are a purchaser of the Device in the EU, you are entitled to a two-year warranty for parts, labor, and service. If you are a purchaser of the Device outside of the EU, you are entitled to a one-year warranty for parts, labor, and service. These warranties are in addition to and do not affect your legal rights as a consumer.

OTHER THAN THE ABOVE AND TO THE MAXIMUM EXTENT PERMITTED BY APPLICABLE LAW, GOOGLE EXPRESSLY DISCLAIMS ALL WARRANTIES AND CONDITIONS OF ANY KIND, WHETHER EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, REGARDING ANY DEVICES, INCLUDING ANY IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE, OR NON-INFRINGEMENT.

Unlike traditional electronics companies, Google is delegating all warranty and customer service support to the ODM. And people do not understand this, since it's completely different from what they're used to. Since no one bothers reading the fine prints, they go and seek help in the wrong place.

Legally speaking, Google is not at fault here. With the above disclaimer, they have successfully disclaimed all their responsibility of providing service and customer care.

To the average folk who received customer support on their electronics for their entire life however, Google's stance is completely unacceptable.

Those smart people who actually read the fine print will not have this problem, because they'll head to HTC to confirm the level of support they'll be getting (that is to say, exactly 0), and will hold off on purchasing the device until better support is introduced. It's not that hard really, just go to http://www.htc.com/us/support [htc.com] where the Nexus One is obviously missing from the drop down menu. To make matters worst, HTC decided it would be funny to make a link titled "Google Nexus One Support Information" which links to a functionally useless page on Google.

Of course HTC is smart for not providing support since it's Google's reputation getting damaged here (see /. article title for example), not HTC's. This is the perfect method for silently eliminating an potential competitor in the mobiles market.

Obligatory car analogy: Bob sells me a used car and claims that Alice can repair it if anything goes wrong within a year. The car breaks down within a week but Alice is charging an outrageous amount for the repair fee. I get mad at Bob because he deceived me.

In the end:I get stuck with a broken car.
Bob's reputation is damaged.
But Alice lost nothing.

Re:new to customer service (2, Interesting)

moosesocks (264553) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703144)

Shouldn't HTC be providing support?

From what I understand, Google is aiming to be a reseller, and will eventually be selling all Android-based devices from their website. The Nexus one is simply the first to be offered through the program.

I quite like Google's concerted attempts to divorce hardware devices from mobile carriers. It should spur considerable innovation in the industry. Of course, some things such as the burden of technical support still need to be sorted out -- turning to the European model should work just fine (subsidized contract phones are supported by the carrier, while 'unlocked' phones are supported by the manufacturer, with the carrier stepping in to provide help with SIM issues).

Re:new to customer service (1)

zill (1690130) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703544)

According to Google's fine prints, yes, HTC should be providing support.

On http://www.htc.com/us/support [htc.com] , HTC's support comes in the form of a http link titled "Google Nexus One Support Information" and it links stright to Google.

I think these two companies managed to form an infinite loop.

And here I was thinking that infinite loop is Apple's specialty.

Re:new to customer service (2, Insightful)

Chris Burke (6130) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703320)

google doesn't have any experience fielding public customer service - all their products are free to the public with some commercial products that i guess would generate some limited helpdesk demands.

I'm sure their commercial helpdesk is extensive. But the nature of commercial support is a little different, and you're absolutely right their lack of experience bit them. I know several people who have worked on commercial tech support lines, like my mom*, and apparently you still get the same famous idiocy you've heard about in every other kind of help desk. It's not like "commercial" necessarily means "big company with their stuff together" in the first place (think of everyone who advertises through them).

I think the difference though is that in business-client support it's more incident-based, because you're fulfilling specific support contract terms that they payed for. In that context, "have someone in your employ (even if that means you) e-mail our help desk" is pretty reasonable, and if it's a technical problem you're a lot more likely to be able to talk to a technical person on the other side. On a consumer line it's all about maximizing the ratio of customer happiness to time wasted on them.

It's kinda funny, googling for "google nexus help" does show they have an online help center but it seems rudimentary (and asks you to email them for most problems). Most of the time, googling for help on something is a good way to find out how to fix it. But not when googling for Google, because Google isn't used to creating the content that googling for something provides.

* Before anyone asks, I know your mom too, obviously in a different context though a desk was involved.

Re:new to customer service (1)

sznupi (719324) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703382)

Or you can, you know, make a product that hardly needs customer service...

Re:new to customer service (5, Interesting)

rAiNsT0rm (877553) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703680)

Umm, no. Google offers quite a few services through acquisitions and business/pay services. Postini for example, however, that service has some of the worst support ever. Gmail... oh, wait, that has terrible support too. Adsense... yep, constant fiascos and problems. Basically this company has NO track record of good service but everyone simply gives them a pass.

I do use some of their services, personally and in my company, but I know their service is trash. When I can replace them with another product/company I do. Gmail for Zimbra as an example.

duh (1)

bananaquackmoo (1204116) | more than 4 years ago | (#30702856)

For the lack of customer service...someone didn't think this through very well, did they. For the lack of an SDK... that will be corrected very soon, no doubt.

Re:duh (3, Interesting)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30702976)

For the lack of an SDK... that will be corrected very soon, no doubt.

Android releases are sort of a mess, which may or may not be deliberate. A new OS version will typically first appear on a new handset, and the SDK will pop up at roughly the same time. Weeks later, they push out a single blob of changes to their public Git repository. Months later, it's available on other handsets.

And so the whole Android ecosystem is far more of a mess than it should or could be, with plenty of devices at 1.5 or 1.6, two (Droid/Milestone) at 2.0, and the Nexus One at 2.1. For simpler apps, it's usually not problematic to target 1.5 and have your app run on anything. But when you try to do more interesting things...ugh. Hopefully once Android is a bit more feature-complete, things will stabilize, but Android adoption is growing fast, and they need to get things under control soon. And I haven't even mentioned some utterly moronic decisions, like barring all SIM-unlocked phones from downloading copy-protected apps, just because there's a loophole in the dev phones (which are also SIM-unlocked).

Well (5, Insightful)

mewshi_nya (1394329) | more than 4 years ago | (#30702866)

That *is* what you get for being an early adopter...

They haven't even worked out how to work out problems yet, it seems like.

Re:Well (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30703210)

This isn't early adoption, Google need to step up and create support channels. Droid owners have the same shit to content with. Verizon sell you the phone and contract, any problems are blamed on Google or Motorola. Call Motorola, they blame Google. There is no one to contact at Google, just forums rarely manned by Google staff, and certainly not in a proper support role. Search for "Droid GPS searching" and look at how crap the support is.

Re:Well (1)

Darkness404 (1287218) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703650)

Ok, this is like if you have a Dell, you have AOL as your ISP and you are running Windows. When you have a problem with your computer you call Dell, when you have a problem with your internet you call AOL, when you have a problem with Windows you call Microsoft. A lot of these people have a problem with their phone and are calling Google, just like if you had a Dell and called Microsoft for support, or if you had a Windows problem and called AOL.

How exactly is it a problem that your cell phone provider doesn't know much about the hardware or software? Should your ISP give Windows tech support? According to the problem you said to Google, it was a problem with Verizon's network, not Google, not Motorola.

they really joe bidened it this time! (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30702870)

you can almost smell the hair transplant.

Android phones coming soon to Verizon.... (0, Troll)

LostCluster (625375) | more than 4 years ago | (#30702874)

Can you hear me now? Uhm, this is not good. Can you hear me now?

Question (4, Insightful)

Karganeth (1017580) | more than 4 years ago | (#30702884)

How does PC World have any idea of the volume of traffic Google is getting from disgruntled N1 customers? By stories from random people? Yeah, thought so. A

Re:Question (5, Informative)

SignalFreq (580297) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703062)

They claimed that the Google Support forums were being swamped with complaints. However, a simple search shows that "swamped" apparently means a couple hundred topics, only a few of which are related to service issues (most seem to deal with rate plan questions, upgrade questions, or how to order questions):

http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/Google+Mobile/label?lid=18bf75ad33b7d554&hl=en [google.com]

Market Research using Google... (2, Insightful)

clinko (232501) | more than 4 years ago | (#30702904)

48,000,000 for i hate t-mobile
  1,660,000 for i hate verizon
  1,330,000 for i hate at&t
    361,000 for i hate vodafone

Looks like they picked a winner to start with...

(Bonus: 1,590,000 for i hate sprint)

Re:Market Research using Google... (3, Insightful)

Stan Vassilev (939229) | more than 4 years ago | (#30702984)

48,000,000 for i hate t-mobile
    1,660,000 for i hate verizon
    1,330,000 for i hate at&t
        361,000 for i hate vodafone

403,000,000 for i love t-mobile
  15,900,000 for i love verizon
  15,300,000 for i love at&t ...

I guess you clearly see what I'm trying to say here :)

Re:Market Research using Google... (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30703118)

48,000,000 for i hate t-mobile
        1,660,000 for i hate verizon
        1,330,000 for i hate at&t
                361,000 for i hate vodafone

403,000,000 for i love t-mobile
    15,900,000 for i love verizon
    15,300,000 for i love at&t ...

152,000 for i hate google
1,710,000 for i love google

I wonder how long the numbers will look like this...

Re:Market Research using Google... (1)

c_forq (924234) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703132)

Taking that the next step, look at the ratios. It looks like T-Mobile has the worst, and AT&T the best.

Re:Market Research using Google... (3, Funny)

VGPowerlord (621254) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703192)

about 140,000,000 for i love sex

Quite sad that more people love t-mobile than love sex.

Re:Market Research using Google... (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30703236)

14,800,000 / 168,000

Looks like sex's ratio beats all the cell carriers. But I think people might object more strongly to it if it were ad-supported:

"This orgasm brought to you by Microsoft"

Re:Market Research using Google... (1)

stalky14 (574130) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703552)

That's because sex has a standardized user interface.

Re:Market Research using Google... (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30703628)

>>That's because sex has a standardized user interface.

I'd like to sit on the standards committee.

Re:Market Research using Google... (1)

PK Tech Guy (1310715) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703450)

Even sadder, I tried to give you +1 "funny" and accidentally gave you -1 "overrated"

I think I'll google "I hate Logitech"

Re:Market Research using Google... (2, Insightful)

at_slashdot (674436) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703202)

You should use quotes, for example:

447,000 for "I hate AT&T"
145,000 for "I hate T-Mobile".

Re:Market Research using Google... (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30703284)

Now let's try putting quotes around the search:

144,000 for "i hate t-mobile"
468,000 for "i hate verizon"
444,000 for "i hate at&t"
44,300 for "i hate vodafone"
286,000 for "i hate sprint"

49,700 for "i love t-mobile"
258,000 for "i love verizon"
103,000 for "i love at&t"

Re:Market Research using Google... (-1, Troll)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30703026)

51,400,000 for i hate gays
208,000 for i hate niggers

31,400,000 for i hate statistics

Re:Market Research using Google... (1)

nxtw (866177) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703032)

639,000 for i hate "t-mobile"
716,000 for i hate tmobile
Also it would make sense to adjust the numbers for the number of customers each has. But T-Mobile offers service in other English speaking countries, and Verizon, AT&T and Sprint brands are/were used for more than wireless service.

Re:Market Research using Google... (5, Insightful)

herksc (1447137) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703098)

Try it in quotes:

144,000 for "i hate t-mobile"
468,000 for "i hate verizon"
444,000 for "i hate at&t"
286,000 for "i hate sprint"

Searching 'I hate t-mobile' on google (no quotes) comes up with results that include "i", "hate", "t", and "mobile" separately. Your research method is highly flawed.

Love:Hate ratios in "I love/hate [telco]" searches (5, Interesting)

Eravau (12435) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703370)

Love:Hate

T-Mobile:
49,800:145,000 (1:2.9)
25.6% love
74.4% hate

Verizon:
259,000:469,000 (1:1.8)
35.6% love
64.4% hate

AT&T:
103,000:447,000 (1:4.3)
18.7% love
81.3% hate

Sprint:
45,500:287,000 (1:6.3)
13.7% love
86.3% hate

Most Loved: Verizon
Most Hated: Sprint

Re:Love:Hate ratios in "I love/hate [telco]" searc (1)

Darkness404 (1287218) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703698)

But that is also flawed because AT&T does more than mobile phones, T-Mobile is offered in many different English speaking countries, Sprint until 2006 had landlines, and Verizon has an ISP service.

There is no fair way to do this with Google because you don't know what context that is in. Does someone love their TV from AT&T or their mobile phone service from AT&T? Does someone hate T-Mobile in the US or T-Mobile in the UK? Does someone really love their fiber service by Verizon or their phone service? About the only somewhat fair result would be with Sprint because Sprint hasn't had anything other than mobile phones for ~4 years and even that could be swayed with people talking about landlines.

Re:Market Research using Google... (1)

The End Of Days (1243248) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703372)

Some additions to fix the flaws in your corrections

61,200 for "i hate tmobile"
137,000 for "i hate att"

Of course, that probably introduces some duplicates. Also, considering that hatred is possibly the least rational of all emotions, I would be very cautious deriving meaning from this.

Re:Market Research using Google... (1)

barzok (26681) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703388)

Add Nextel into any Sprint numbers. 49,500 hits for "i hate nextel"

Re:Market Research using Google... (1)

neokushan (932374) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703140)

T-mobile is worldwide, Verizon, sprint and AT&T are not.
Although Vodafone is worldwide as well, so Kudos to them for not being utterly terrible.

Random amusing trivia: I get 361,000 results for "I hate vodafone" but 371,000 results for "I hate vodaphone".

Re:Market Research using Google... (3, Interesting)

Hadlock (143607) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703206)

(Bonus: 1,590,000 for i hate sprint)

Because people don't gripe about sprint, they just drop them and move onto a carrier that supports modern phones. I love t-mobile by the way. Everytime I call (0 wait, either!) the tmobile rep usually says "we can add/adjust this feature for free!". When I called about how to use google voice as a voicemail transcription service [nearlydeaf.com] , the guy not only gave me the code to key in, but also offered to set it up on my end, put me on hold and then call my cell and test the transcription service to confirm it worked. Compared to sprint, where I usually got in screaming matches with the CS reps there over some new $4 charge per month they needed to charge me to make/recieve international calls or some other BS. Fuck sprint. I'll never go back. I love tmobile.

Re:Market Research using Google... (1)

Mornedhel (961946) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703294)

And over 63,000,000 for i hate google !

Welcome to America (1)

muppetman462 (867367) | more than 4 years ago | (#30702906)

Google got all the hip going for this phone, and probably thought that only the "super geek" would get it. Now that Ma an Pa Bell are getting this phone, and don't know how to enter in the information for looking onto the cell phone network, or how to send text message, google will find out how "smart" the average american is :)

Re:Welcome to America (3, Funny)

indi0144 (1264518) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703268)

reply to delete wrong moderation, :/ anyway it looks like this is a dupe, it's been out for less than a month, just after holidays (people out of money)so I bet there is not such a huge user base to complain. Looks like some shills set up us the bomb in the firehose..

next in /. "How Google power his datacenters with a furnace that works exclusively on first born children and kittens and how they are so proud of it"

then, "Google discovers Atlantis with Maps data and they close the source for the machine that wrecked the island"

in other news "How Google mine your porn preferences and how do they plan to go and tell to your wife and boss, yes! YOUR wife and boss, for the lulz"

Re:Welcome to America (1)

fluffy99 (870997) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703636)

Google got all the hip going for this phone, and probably thought that only the "super geek" would get it. Now that Ma an Pa Bell are getting this phone, and don't know how to enter in the information for looking onto the cell phone network, or how to send text message, google will find out how "smart" the average american is :)

I think you hit the nail on the head. Most of the gotta-have-it types I know, really are not as tech savvy as they think. If it isn't idiot proof, you gotta plan for lots of tech support. Even Apple whose products are relatively user friendly has to do a ton of hand holding.

Avoid 1.0 (5, Insightful)

Gonoff (88518) | more than 4 years ago | (#30702912)

A good idea is to avoid version 1.0 of any commercial offering. It's not a bad idea to avoid .0 versions in general.
If you have to get one, wait a month. They don't call it the Bleeding Edge of technology for nothing. I prefer it to be someone else's blood...

Re:Avoid 1.0 (4, Informative)

Paradigm_Complex (968558) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703036)

It's version 2.1 of the software, which is the part Google did. HTC did the hardware, and not only have they released phones before but a number of Android-based phones.

It's really not all that much of reach to expect that, by now, they'd have it pretty close to bug-free, especially considering the (relatively) quiet front with regards to previous problems on Android-based HTC phones.

I agree with your point about avoiding the bleeding-edge, I just don't think it applies here.

Re:Avoid 1.0 (1)

MichaelSmith (789609) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703402)

It's version 2.1 of the software

Probably because google, like the authors of dbase are aware of this exact problem.

Re:Avoid 1.0 (2, Informative)

JorDan Clock (664877) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703058)

Except the phone runs Android 2.1, so according to your rule-of-thumb, it should be safe.

Re:Avoid 1.0 (4, Insightful)

neokushan (932374) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703164)

However, there isn't anything actually wrong with the phone itself (or at least, nothing I've seen), the problem is Google's (supposed) lack of Customer support, that's all. No matter how perfect a device or service is, you'll always need customer support for those that simply don't "get" it.
As someone who works in this field, myself, I can assure you that thousands of people calling for help doesn't always mean there's a problem.

Re:Avoid 1.0 (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30703386)

News flash for y'all. Software marketing monkeys know all about that, and bump the version numbers accordingly. The version numbers identifying a SKU often have zero correlation with the engineer's view of the world.

Just Look At Her Other Garbage Articles (5, Informative)

MediaStreams (1461187) | more than 4 years ago | (#30702950)

Notice a pattern about her Android articles?

http://labs.daylife.com/journalist/nancy_gohring [daylife.com]

One guess, which type of phone does Nancy own? i...

Engadget iPhone Fanboy Caught Pulling Same Crap (1, Insightful)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30703096)

The butthurt iPhone fans in the media are out in force. One of the idiotic iPhone fanboys at Engadget was caught falsifying his review to try to make the Nexus One look slower than his precious "OMG!!! the iPhone!!!"

Re:Just Look At Her Other Garbage Articles (4, Funny)

blind biker (1066130) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703114)

One guess, which type of phone does Nancy own? i...

Yeah, it rhymes with "You insensitive clod!"

Re:Just Look At Her Other Garbage Articles (1)

furball (2853) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703178)

How does criticism of Android tell you which kind of phone she has?

Re:Just Look At Her Other Garbage Articles (1)

93 Escort Wagon (326346) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703434)

Yeah, the parent to your post apparently didn't even do what he told other people do - "iPhone" doesn't even show up in the keyword box over to the right at all.

But you know what they say about when people assume...

Re:Just Look At Her Other Garbage Articles (2, Insightful)

BitZtream (692029) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703180)

Considering she wrote 3 nexus one articles in one day I would assume a nexus one, but either way, its unlikely she has any idea what she's talking about as she probably spent more time talking about the phone than using or talking on the phone.

Obviously she isn't anyone you'd want to listen to for any advice on anything.

So was your point that she does or doesn't own a nexus one? I don't see any articles on that page about other phones so I must presume thats what she has,

Re:Just Look At Her Other Garbage Articles (1)

1 inch punch (319701) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703270)

Doesn't make her points any less valid i.e. none of the external developers had access to the 2.1 SDK prior to the N1's release, that Google is unaccustomed to direct sales etc.

iPhone Fans Should Scared (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30703468)

The Nexus One is by the best phone I've ever used or owned. My friends old iPhone looks like a tacky piece of crap next to it with all that awful chrome on it.

The speed and UI are amazing. And so far the phone has been flawless. T-Mobile 3G coverage is very good in my area.

Nancy Gohring really needs to get a life. Spewing out Android FUD articles isn't going to make precious iPhone as good as the Nexus One.

OK, I'll bite (0, Troll)

PCM2 (4486) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703572)

Notice a pattern about her Android articles?

No. What is the pattern?

For one thing, you cannot tell anything about a news article by the headline alone. More often than not, reporters don't write their own headlines.

Do no evil. (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30702966)

Google is good. But I wouldn't piss on them if they were on fire if they were soley judged by customer service.

Beta (4, Funny)

bsDaemon (87307) | more than 4 years ago | (#30702994)

Give 'em a break... the phone's still in beta!

Re:Beta (1)

Jorl17 (1716772) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703238)

In a couple of tenths of years it'll be out, no need to worry...everything's calm... Shit, why is my nexus one showing me a Funny Screen of Death? Oh, that's just google saying hello. Hey there!

I can fully understand the operators (4, Informative)

dnaumov (453672) | more than 4 years ago | (#30702998)

Disclaimer: I work for the biggest mobile provider in a nordic country. This is completely normal behaviour for a mobile provider. We are the bit/call/sms delivery pipe. We don't really care at all what device you use on our network as long as its approved by the relevant authorities to be used on the appropriate radio frequencies. If your problem is directly relevant to our network (for example, bad coverage that is consistent across multiple phone models) or our actual services (ringbacktone, mms delivery, answering machine, push email, etc), you call us. If your problem is phonemodel-specific, we can't help, you call the phone manufacturer, even if you happened to purchase the phone at our store. There are literally thousands of phone models out there. To be expecting your operator to help you with with your random phone model and it's specific issues is naive at best.

Re:I can fully understand the operators (0, Troll)

BitZtream (692029) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703200)

Really? You don't even support phones you sell? I can understand not supporting phones that others sell, but you won't even service what you sell?

I'll add that to my list of reasons never to visit such shitty countries, the retarded cold that you guys live in being the biggest reason of course.

Re:I can fully understand the operators (1)

bagboy (630125) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703316)

Really? You mean when you buy a desktop at best buy and %$^%$ your email settings, can't figure out how to send email or open a document, you expect best buy to give you free support on how to use it? I bet you call your ISP for that kind of support too....

Re:I can fully understand the operators (1)

furball (2853) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703364)

I'm an stupid consumer. I bought my iPhone at an Apple store because I'm dumb. I have problems with it. WHERE DO I GO?!

Re:I can fully understand the operators (4, Insightful)

bhagwad (1426855) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703380)

Really? You don't even support phones you sell?

I think you misunderstand. The carriers don't sell phones at all. They just provide service. Other companies sell the phone. Like one company selling you a computer and the another providing the Internet connection. Savvy?

Re:I can fully understand the operators (2, Insightful)

MichaelSmith (789609) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703592)

Really? You don't even support phones you sell? I can understand not supporting phones that others sell, but you won't even service what you sell?

Its normal outside the US for users to casually change networks by changing SIM cards in phones. Here in Australia I would say that at least 50% of the time phones are not used on networks they were bought for, and many phones are bought outright, without contracts.

When my wife was in Malaysia recently she bought a SIM to use for local calls during her stay.

Re:I can fully understand the operators (2, Insightful)

the_unknown_soldier (675161) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703252)

Where I come from telcos support the phones they sell... I can't see how that's 'naive' since that's how it works in most of the world...

Re:I can fully understand the operators (5, Insightful)

iluvcapra (782887) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703340)

We don't really care at all what device you use on our network as long as its approved by the relevant authorities to be used on the appropriate radio frequencies.

To be honest, this sounds like the sort of arrangement many of us here can only dream of here in the US. All of our carriers here want to "help us" by locking-out phone features and plying us with terrible value-added services, and structuring rate plans so that the carrier is essentially charging rent instead of providing a compensated service.

Re:I can fully understand the operators (3, Informative)

todrules (882424) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703542)

Wow, really? I used to work tech support for T-Mobile USA. We were expected to try our best to help troubleshoot any T-Mobile customer using any T-Mobile phone. I helped setup iPhones on our network, troubleshoot a ton of European and Asian devices that I had never heard of, and helped customers who couldn't receive text messages while they were visiting Zimbabwe. I was extremely surprised that T-Mobile was not doing the tech support for the Nexus, since they support every other device out there anyways no matter where you got it from. Pretty strange...T-Mobile will provide tech support for the iPhone but not a Nexus One.

This is kind of expected... (1)

MrCrassic (994046) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703042)

This sounds just like the support I'd get if I bought an iPhone from eBay and had T-Mobile service...except I would actually have a choice on the plan configuration I want. Not having nice and responsive customer support over the phone blows, especially for an expensive phone that you can't try until the cash is dropped and the item is shipped.

plus, was Google EVER known to have good support? Changing one's password without the forms can take a while...and is email only. I hope they're working on rectifying this, since this form of support will kill them.

Re:This is kind of expected... (1)

todrules (882424) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703564)

It's actually less support than if you bought an iPhone. T-Mobile tech support will at least try and troubleshoot your iPhone for you. They'll get you setup with the correct network settings, etc.... It looks like if you have a Nexus One, however, they just xfer you to Google/HTC though.

I'm inclined to cut them some slack. (1)

jcr (53032) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703080)

Getting your act together when launching a new product takes time.

-jcr

Re:I'm inclined to cut them some slack. (3, Insightful)

BitZtream (692029) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703250)

As an Apple fanboy I can assure you that this is unacceptable.

When I bought my iPhones on release days everything worked flawlessly!

I didn't have any problems with them not being able to activate it, or not being able to determine that my account was eligible, or not being able to process my fucking perfectly valid credit card, or not allowing me to use a different card because it didn't have my middle initial on it ...

Nope ... never had any iPhone problems, so why should Google get any slack?!?!!

In all seriousness however, its even harder to do things right one your very first try. I'd cut them some slack as well. Of course, this is what, the 3rd or 4th Android phone thats been released, and they've been involved directly with all of them so they probably should know what they are doing.

Whats most likely however is that this launch really went just fine and that what we're seeing is just an example of how the Internet can blow things out of proportion because the product was far too over hyped to start with.

All The Help You Need (3, Funny)

hduff (570443) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703106)

Here's all the help you need: http://www.google.com/ [google.com]

linux fag bitches? (-1, Troll)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30703154)

suck my nuts.

Invite-only? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30703190)

Now, I'll admit it's been a week or two since I last checked, but wasn't this phone invite-only? Maybe there was a *reason* for that, like they wanted to see what common complaints people might have, so they could fix them before the thing is available to the general public?

Re:Invite-only? (1)

dave_d (22165) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703472)

Um, nope. It's not invite only. Can buy it directly from google (http://google.com/phone)

Re:Invite-only? (1)

zill (1690130) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703558)

Nope, it's available to ship to any address within United States.

phone is great (3, Insightful)

farble1670 (803356) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703276)

i bought an unlocked N1 the second it was released. it's been working great i'm very happy with it. zero bugs and zero crashes so far. note that no review of the many that i read before i purchased the phone had anything significant to complain about let alone bugs or stability problems.

i'm fairly certain google and t-mo are not releasing the number and details of their support calls. i have no doubt that *some* support calls are being fielded, and some users are unhappy. here's the "proof" from the PCWorld article,

More than 425 comments [google.com] are listed on a thread about service eligibility issues. Some of them are from people who say that they ought to be eligible for the subsidized price of the phone but the Google sales site says they aren't. Many others are simply complaining of a policy that requires even longtime T-Mobile customers to pay more for the phone than new customers.

translation: people are complaining that the phone costs too much.

it's not a beta phone. it's a 2.1 release, a minor update to 2.0 which has been shipping for some time on the motorola droid, on a mobile OS that first released 2 years ago. HTC is the first and most experienced android phone manufacturer.

Anything like Google Apps? (4, Insightful)

dave562 (969951) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703298)

If their customer support is anything like Google Apps, good luck with that one. My experience is that Google isn't geared toward customer service and it seems like they could care less. They seem to be coming from the position that everyone should be able to just figure out their products without any help.

My prediction for the year is that we see Google's stock price starting to decline as more and more people realize that beyond search, Google doesn't do anything very well. They have a lot of neat ideas, but their execution blows.

Who cares? (1)

BitZtream (692029) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703300)

Really? Its just a phone. Its not particularly impressive. The only thing it has that you can't find on a hundred other phones is probably the silkscreened 'Google' on it, otherwise there is nothing unique about this phone.

Its not particularly impressive from a CPU power standpoint. Nothing special about the display. Not a lot of storage space. The OS isn't really all that impressive. I'm not really sure what this is supposed to have over other smart phones. There better be something far more impressive than 'it runs android' or they should just put a 'I'm a google fanboy' sticker on it like the stickers they include with Apple products.

I have a distinct feeling that Android and OpenMoko are going to be kissing cousins that only a few people have ever seen in the wild.

Re:Who cares? (1)

briareus (195464) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703648)

...and threadcrapping full of subjective opinion is impressive? At least tell us what you mean by impressive and provide some actual comparisons to the "hundred other phones out there" that have the same feature set. That would be impressive.

My complaint: Carrier data plan still required! (5, Insightful)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#30703376)

Why can't Google offer a cell phone that provides browsing, etc via WiFi, WITHOUT REQUIRING ME TO HAVE A CARRIER DATA PLAN?

I filed a complaint with the FCC (and I encourage you to do the same) that Verizon had no such phones offered. Verizon reps then called me and confirmed this, saying that this is a decision of the phone manufacturers as to how they design their phone devices (they also confirmed that some older smartphones they used to sell and you can still get on ebay don't have this "feature").

I of course doubt this is purely a disinterested phone manufacturer decision.

The Nexus One boards do seem to confirm this is one of the drawbacks of the NexusOne device for those of us who spend 90% of their time in WiFi enabled spots but don't want to pony up another $25/month.
http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/Google%20Mobile/thread?tid=5a6199119e618525&hl=en#all
http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/Google+Mobile/thread?tid=2a191af88d779975&hl=en#all
http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/Google+Mobile/thread?tid=4bc273c38698835c&hl=en
http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/Google+Mobile/thread?tid=7a0b65cae4aa6b88&hl=en
http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/Google+Mobile/thread?tid=3d253758857e6f67&hl=en
http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/Google+Mobile/thread?tid=07bbaac95aef0a15&hl=en

Why does the design of these devices force me to activate a carrier data plan to access the internet when the hardware has WiFi?

Can this "feature" (of Android?) be modified in software since this is open source, and since WiFi hardware is so clearly present?

Inquiring minds want to know!

Re:My complaint: Carrier data plan still required! (0, Troll)

zill (1690130) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703634)

If you don't like it, don't buy it then. None of those companies you mentioned have an obligation to provide you anything.

I don't have a data plan and my iPhone works perfectly fine on wifi. The same could be said of hundreds of other smart phones.

The car analogy of your post would be someone complaining that motorcycles don't come with AC.

Growing pains... (2, Insightful)

QuietLagoon (813062) | more than 4 years ago | (#30703482)

... of the 1.0 version. So what else is new? Anyone here remember Windows 1.0 (a.k.a Interface Manager) announced at the Plaza Hotel in NYC overlooking Central Park? Well, we're up to Windows 7 and Microsoft is still trying to get it right.
Load More Comments
Slashdot Login

Need an Account?

Forgot your password?